Outcomes of the African Union Commission and Internet & Jurisdiction Policy Network Regional Conference 2020

Published on
May 29, 2020

On May 27, 2020 the Internet & Jurisdiction Policy Network in partnership with the African Union Commission hosted a Regional Conference for Africa. The virtual event addressed  transnational and regional legal challenges in cyberspace, emphasizing the value of multistakeholder cooperation to enable digital transformation. 

See what stakeholders from governments, internet companies, technical operators, academia, civil society and international organizations said at the virtual conference. 

Watch the recording of the presentations here

Key outcomes included: 

- Official Africa launch of the world’s first Internet & Jurisdiction Global Status Report 2019 that maps key trends and actors of the ecosystem.

- Multi Stakeholder exchange on internet policy trends that are important for Africa and how they can be addressed by current regional policy dialogues. Issues highlighted by participants included: platform and sharing economy, fake news, impact of the European Union General Data Protection Regulation on data protection and privacy and migration to the cloud amid COVID-19 physical distancing guidelines. 

- Dialogue on Internet & Jurisdiction Policy Network Program outcomes including: how public and private decision-makers can determine the geographic scope of content restrictions, why appropriate and proportionate action to address abuse at the DNS level is important for Africa and how to enhance African participation in global discussions on potential regimes for cross-border access to electronic evidence.

- Regional consultation on the future of the UN Digital Cooperation Architecture (Recommendation 5) in the context of the United Nations Secretary General High Level Panel Report on Digital Cooperation and in cooperation with the Government of Germany in its role as UN champion. 

The event  gathered regional key stakeholders from governments, Internet companies, technical operators, academia, civil society and international organizations to share perspectives on global trends and discuss the future of the cross-border Internet in an African context in the framework of the Digital Transformation Strategy for Africa, launched by African Heads of State in 2019, as well as the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). 

Participating entities from 44 countries included:

Access Now
Ada labs
Africa Cybersecurity and Digital Rights Organisation (ACDRO)
Africa ICT Alliance
Africa Information & Communication Technologies Alliance (AfICTA) 
African Academic Network on Internet Policy
African Internet Governance Forum
African Telecommunications Union (ATU)
African Union
African Union Commission
African Union Cyber Security Experts Group (AUSCEG)
Algeria, Ministry of Post and Telecommunications
American Registry for Internet Numbers (ARIN)
ARTICLE 19 Eastern Africa
Association for Progressive Communications (APC)
Baker Tilly Zimbabwe
Benin Internet Governance Forum 
Benin, Ministry of Planning
Bond University
Botswana Communications Regulatory Authority (BOCRA)
Burkina Faso, Ministry of Digital Economy and Postal Development
Burundi Telecommunications Regulation and Control Agency (ARCT)
Burundi Youth Training Centre
Burundi, Ministry of Post, Youth and ICT
Central Africa Internet Governance Forum
Communications Regulators' Association of Southern Africa (CRASA)
Computer Emergency Response Team of Mauritius (CERT-MU)
Computer Society of Kenya (CSK) 
Comsys Mozambique, LDA
Consortium of Support for Actions for the Promotion and Development of Africa (CAPDA)
Consultancy Support Services Ltd
Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ministry of Post, Telecommunication & ICT
Denmark, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
DigiLexis Consulting
EA Consultation Group
East Africa Internet Governance Forum
Egypt, Ministry of Communications and Information Technology
Egypt, National Telecom Regulatory Authority
Eskom Rotek Industries
European Commission
Ford Foundation
Gabon, Ministery of Communication and the Digital Economy
Ghana Dot Com
Ghana Investment Fund for Electronic Communications (GIFEC)
Ghana National Information Technology Agency
Ghana National Information Technology Agency (NITA)
Ghana, Ministry of Communications
Ghana, National Cyber Security Centre
Guinea, Ministry of Posts, Telecommunications and Digital Economy (MPTEN)
Guinea, National Agency for Innovation and the Digital Economy
Guinée-Bissau, State Secretariat for Transport and Communications
Halley Movement Coalition
ICT SMME Chamber
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA)
Innov'COM Sup'COM
Internet Society Sierra Leone Chapter
Internet Society Tanzania Chapter
Internet Stewards
Ivory Coast Internet Governance Forum
Ivory Coast National Agency of the Universal Service of Telecommunications - Information and communication technology (ANSUT)
Ivory Coast, Ministry of Digital Economy and Postal Service
Kenya Cyber Policy Centre
Kenya ICT Action Network (KICTAnet)
Kenya Network Information Center
Kontemporary Konsulting Ltd
Lesotho, Ministry of Communications
Liberia Telecommunication Corporation
Mali, Agency for Information and Communication Technologies (AGETIC)
Mauritania, Ministry of Higher Education, SCientific Research and ICTs
Mediterranean Federation of Internet Associations
Melburne University
Mojaji Networks
Morocco National Telecommunications Regulatory Agency (ANRT)
Morocco, Ministry of Industry, Trade, Green and Digital Economy
Morocco, National Telecommunications Regulatory Agency
Mozilla Foundation
Mzumbe University
Namibia, Ministry of Information and Communication Technology
National Open University of Nigeria
News Agency of Nigeria (NAN)
Nigeria Internet Governance Forum
Nigeria, Federal Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy
Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC)
Opportunity International
Paradigm Initiative
Republic of the Congo, Directorate General for the Development of the Digital Economy
Research ICT Africa
Rwanda Internet Community and Technology Alliance (RICTA)
SAMENA Telecommunications Council
Sao Tome and Principe, Ministry of Public Works, Infrastructure, Natural Resources and Environment
Senegal Telecommunications and Postal Regulatory Authority (ARTP)
Senegal, Department of Foreign Trade
Senegal, Ministry of Digital Economy and Telecommunications
Smart Africa
Somalia, National Communications Authority
Somaliland, Ministry of ICT
South Africa, Department of Communications and Digital Technologies
South Africa, Ministry of Communications
South Sudan ICT for Development Network
South Sudan, National Communication Authority 
SUNY Polytechnic Institute
Swedish International Development Agency (Sida)
Tanganyika Law Society
Telecom Comores SA
Tunisia National Frequency Agency
Tunisia, ICT MInistry
Tunisia, Ministry of Commerce
Tunisia, Ministry of Communication Technologies & Digital Transformation
Tunisian ICT Association ATTIC
Tunisian Internet Agency (ATI)
Uganda Communications Commission (UCC)
Uganda, Ministry of ICT and National Guidance
UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
United Nations Internet Governance Forum Multistakeholder Advisory Group (MAG)
University of ilorin
University of Kinshasa
University of Malta
University of Yaoundé
Vital Networks Ltd
West Africa ICT Action Network
West Africa Telecommunications Regulators Assembly (WATRA)
YCIG / Dell Technologies
za Domain Name Authority (.ZADNA) 
Zambia Information and Communications Technology Authority (ZICTA)
Zambia Ministry of Transport and Communications
Zambia National Broadcasting Corporation (ZNBC)
Zambia Police Service
Zambia, Ministry of Justice