Data & Jurisdiction Contact Group Members

Published on
April 27, 2017

Based on the collaborative work carried out in the Data & Jurisdiction workstream at the 2016 Global Internet and Jurisdiction Conference, the broad range of topics related to cross-border requests for access to user data was consolidated into more manageable and clearly demarcated areas of cooperation, for which the different actors agreed that operational solutions are needed and progress can be achieved.

Building on these outcomes, the multistakeholder Data & Jurisdiction Contact Group will work to determine what could realistically and pragmatically be achieved within each area for cooperation. Policy Options Documents identified by the Data group and other parallel Contact Groups on Content and Domains have been released in November 2017 ahead of the 2018 Global Internet and Jurisdiction Conference. Parallel work is also being conducted by the Content & Jurisdiction Contact Group and Domains & Jurisdiction Contact Group.

Additional Information
Data & Jurisdiction Policy Options Document

Members of the 2017 Data & Jurisdiction Contact Group

Kevin Bankston


Open Technology Institute

Cathrin Bauer-Bulst

e-Evidence Task Force

DG HOME, European Commission

Eduardo Bertoni


Data Protection Authority (DNPDP), Argentina

Aaron Cooper

Counsel to the Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division

United States Department of Justice

Jennifer Daskal

Associate Professor

American University Washington College of Law

Fernanda Domingos

Federal Prosecutor

Federal Prosecutor's Office of the State of São Paulo, Brazil

Lanah Kammourieh Donnelly

Public Policy Manager


Brendan Eiffe

Head, Central Authority for Mutual Legal Assistance

Department of Justice and Equality, Ireland

Jane Horvath

‎Senior Director, Global Privacy Law and Policy


Gail Kent

Global Public Policy Manager


Mark Lange

Director, EU Institutional Relations


Brad Marden

Assistant Director Digital Crime Investigative Support


Greg Nojeim

Senior Counsel and Director, Freedom, Security and Technology Project

Center for Democracy & Technology

Erik Planken

Senior Policy Advisor on Cybercrime

Ministry of Security and Justice, The Netherlands

Alexander Seger

Executive Secretary, Cybercrime Convention Committee

Council of Europe

Christoph Steck

Director, Public Policy and Internet


Dan Svantesson

Co-director of the Centre for Commercial Law

Bond University

Peter Swire

Professor of Law and Ethics

Georgia Tech University

Robert Young

Legal Counsel, Criminal, Security, and Diplomatic Division

Global Affairs Canada